Thursday, 4 April 2013

Month of Men Blog Tour: Guest Post Nicole Williams On Writing Romance

As part of the Month of Men New Adult blog tour I'm thrilled to welcome Nicole Williams to the blog today to discuss writing romance. But first of all I'd love to introduce Nicole's books to you guys Crash and Clash will both be published this June by Simon and Schuster and I'm so excited to read them! Here are the synopsis' and our gorgeous newly revealed UK covers.

Crash (Crash, #1) by Nicole Williams 

Southpointe High is the last place Lucy wanted to wind up her senior year of school. Right up until she stumbles into Jude Ryder, a guy whose name has become its own verb, and synonymous with trouble. He's got a rap sheet that runs longer than a senior thesis, has had his name sighed, shouted, and cursed by more women than Lucy dares to ask, and lives at the local boys home where disturbed seems to be the status quo for the residents. Lucy had a stable at best, quirky at worst, upbringing. She lives for wearing the satin down on her ballet shoes, has her sights set on Juilliard, and has been careful to keep trouble out of her life. Up until now…

Jude's everything she knows she needs to stay away from if she wants to separate her past from her future. But she's about to find out that staying away is the only thing she's incapable of.

For Lucy Larson and Jude Ryder, love's about to become the thing that tears them apart.

Clash (Crash, #2) by Nicole Williams 

For Lucy Larson and Jude Ryder, love might be the thing that just isn't enough.

The only easy thing about Jude and Lucy's relationship is their love for one another. Everything else is hard. Especially when it comes to reining in Jude's trigger touch temper and Lucy's increasing jealousy of the female attention that Jude attracts. Feeling the stress of trying to hang on to her quintessential bad boy while becoming the foremost dancer in her class, Lucy knows something's going to break. She wants both. She needs both. But if she doesn't make a choice, she risks losing everything.

Full of passion, steamy scenes and hot romance, CLASH is a must for fans of BEAUTIFUL DISASTER and PERFECT CHEMISTRY.

 Nicole Williams: On Writing Romance

What did I use to picture when someone told me they read romance novels? Yeah. You probably already know. That one aisle in the bookstore that no man ever wandered into, where the covers of the books featured broad and bronze chested men clutching to a woman with long, flowing hair and a heaving bosom. Anyone know what I’m talking about? I thought so.

Needless to say, I avoided those aisles like they meant social, professional, and emotional ruin. I found myself drawn to Young Adult books, where I knew I’d almost always find a happily-ever-after waiting for me, and the romance was often sweet and slow-simmering. It was only a couple of years ago when I stumbled on the Contemporary Romance category, where the romance could still be sweet and slow-simmering, but there weren’t any fade-to-black scenes. For me, a romance is all about the relationship the writer’s established between the two characters. That’s what I focus on when I write a book, because the heat and chemistry can be scorching between a couple, but if the relationship isn’t there, the romance falls flat for me. The relationship is what I try to never lose sight of, because if I build that correctly, the romance often falls into place pretty seamlessly.

My goal when I write romance is simple: to entertain. To offer a temporary escape and make the reader sigh. To make the reader feel something. If I succeed at that, then my mission is accomplished.


Thanks for being on the blog today Nicole! I completely agree with you, if a couple have all the chemistry in the bedroom but none outside of it it doesn't feel like a romance to me and kind of cheapens the book. I much prefer the two characters having a romantic connection and then the tension between them speaks for itself! Look out for the next stop on the Month of Men blog tour and keep updated with the rest of the posts here. The Month of Men blog tour is hosting some of the hottest New Adult authors you wont want to miss it!


  1. This is such a great post Nicole and Jess! I agree there definitely needs to be a solid relationship between two characters, not just a strong sexual chemistry in order for a romance to work for me. And I love how your goal Nicole is to simply entertain and provide a temporary escape, that's what I'm looking for when I pick my books up! Thanks for sharing this great post with us! Also I love the new covers, I will definitely be looking out for them when they're released over here! :)

    1. Thanks Jasprit! I'm glad you agree with us! I feel the same way I need a good escape with my books :) I'm glad you'll be looking out for them, I really love our new covers.


Your thoughts, opinions, and input make my day and help make this blog a better place, I reply to all comments so don't be a stranger!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Blog design by Imagination Designs using images from the Valentine Owls and Valentine's Day clip art kits by Pink Pueblo